Saturday, June 27, 2009

Just For Kix

There have been online rumors over the past few months that General Mills had removed oats as an ingredient in its original Kix cereal but reported sightings of the product were rare as photos of the Loch Ness Monster. According to the updated product information on the General Mills website, Kix in fact no longer contains oats, which had the risk of being cross-contaminated with gluten in the harvesting process. With this change, now all of the Kix cereals - original Kix, Honey Kix and Berry Berry Kix - do not contain gluten ingredients.

Note that unlike General Mills' recently reformulated Chex cereals, none of the Kix cereals are specifically labeled gluten free. This may mean that the Kix cereals are not made in a dedicated gluten-free manufacturing facility.

Since this product change is recent, some markets may still be selling the older version until they run out. Be sure to check the package in the store prior to purchase.
Comment using:

1 comment:

  1. I did like Kix cereal. This is good news.

    ReplyDelete